Today.

Today I spent a lot of time lounging and reading ‘zines in bed, I did dishes, and went out only for espresso.

I made roasted balsamic portobello mushrooms on a bed of baby spinach for lunch, and thought I would share the recipe because it is amazingly sinple and vegan.

Roasted Balsamic Portobello Mushrooms

Whisk together in large bowl:

5 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
3 chubby garlic cloves (minced)
1 teaspoon thyme
1 tablespoon dijon mustard OR honey mustard
salt and pepper, to taste

Marinate 2 – 3 large portobello mushroom caps in this mixture for 20 minutes minimum (or as long as overnight) in the fridge. Preheat oven to 400F. Oh yeah! I like to slice up an onion and throw it in too. Place caps in pan, gills-down and dump all the extra marinade on them. Roast for 20-30 mins, turning the over after 10-15 mins. I usually gauge their done-ness by looking at the onions, I like them to be nicely browned and soft but not fried to a crisp.

Personally I have been enjoying these on a big pile of spinach, with the extra marinade used as dressing, but you can use them for lotsa things! On the page where I found the original recipe (which I have tweaked here), they suggest trying them “with mashed potatoes and steamed veggies, but they would be delicious in pasta or on pizza.”

Yummy lazy Saturday.

I also discovered today that my fancy new phone can record video, which just seems ridiculously fancy. Maybe it’s standard with the kids nowadays though? Technology.

Tonight my plans are: draw, maybe include glitter. Bake vegan peanut butter cookies. Totally not care that I do not have any social engagements on Saturday night. The time changes tonight and I am still going to a yoga class in the morning.

I tried to email myself a photo I took on my phone to show my loyal readers all the fun things I was in bed with this afternoon (mostly ‘zines, and food!), but somehow I have failed at technology, again.

Edit for photo!

Yeah I can figure things out! Slowly…

About heartroot

i like: pugs, cuddles, plants, herbs, tea, art, slasher movies, cultural theory, feminist theory, zombies, cupcakes, bike riding, swimming in the ocean.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

